Fats Domino, the New Orleans rhythm-and-blues singer whose two-fisted boogie-woogie piano and nonchalant vocals, heard on dozens of hits, made him one of the biggest stars of the early rock ’n’ roll era.

Fats was born on this day in 1928 in New Orleans, LA and died on October 24, 2017 in Harvey, LA at the age of 89.

Mr. Domino had more than three dozen Top 40 pop hits through the 1950s and early ’60s, among them “Blueberry Hill,” “Ain’t It a Shame” (also known as “Ain’t That a Shame,” which is the actual lyric), “I’m Walkin’,” “Blue Monday” and “Walkin’ to New Orleans.” Throughout he displayed both the buoyant spirit of New Orleans, his hometown, and a droll resilience that reached listeners worldwide.

He sold 65 million singles in those years, with 23 gold records, making him second only to Elvis Presley as a commercial force.

Fats Domino: 12 Essential Songs:

  1. “The Fat Man” 1950
  2. “Goin’ Home” 1952
  3. “Ain’t That a Shame” 1955
  4. “Blueberry Hill” 1956
  5. “I’m in Love Again” 1956
  6. “Blue Monday” 1956
  7. “My Blue Heaven” 1956
  8. “I’m Walkin'” 1957
  9. “Whole Lotta Loving” 1958
  10. “I Want to Walk You Home” 1959
  11. “Walking to New Orleans” 1960
  12. “Jambalaya” 1961

List provide by Rolling Stone Magazine

Become a Member

Join the growing family of people who believe that music is essential to our community. Your donation supports the work we do, the programs you count on, and the events you enjoy.

Download the App

Download KUVO's FREE app today! The KUVO Public Radio App allows you to take KUVO's music and news with you anywhere, anytime!