The Newman Center on the University of Denver campus ends this season’s jazz offerings this month with Cyrille Aimee on May 19th and several student recitals through the month, and the 2023 – 2024 season has been announced. In addition to dance and classical music events, here are next season’s major events for jazz fans:

On September 30th, MacArthur genius and Virtuoso pianist Vijay Iyer, with vocalist Arooj Aftab, the first Pakistani to win a Grammy, and multi-instrumentalist Shazhad Ismaily are three U.S.-based South Asian artists. It’s an ethereal, ambient sound, with Aftab’s soaring vocals. Their collaboration – now on record – is called “Love in Exile.”

The husband-wife duo of Herb Alpert and Lani Hall are on stage on Saturday. October 14.

The “it girl” of jazz vocalist, Samara Joy, coming off her big Grammy win as Best New Artist, sings on Sunday night, October 15.

In 2024, the Emmet Cohen Trio next February (2/3/24), the Joshua Redman Quartet next March (3/1/24), and the Maria Schneider Orchestra next May (5/3/24).

The winner of the 2023 American Pianists Award is Juilliard graduate Isaiah J. Thompson, who took the prize in a final round of competition last month at Hilbert Circle Theatre in Indianapolis. The $200,000 (dollar) prize includes a cash prize, two years of career assistance – including consideration from Mack Avenue Records, publicity support, a media and performance tour and an artist residency at University of Indianapolis. Thompson, originally from New Jersey, spent the summer of 2014 in Colorado at the Vail Jazz Workshop.
After a 13-month process, over one week in April, the five finalists participated in a variety of performance settings around Indy, including vocal sets with Cecile McLorin Salvant and big band sessions with the Buselli-Wallarab Jazz Orchestra. And some of those events were judged by names like Cyrus Chestnut, Bill Cunliffe, Lynne Arriale, and former APA winner Sullivan Fortner.
If you want to see the judging process up close, all adjudicated events were livestreamed and remain available for viewing at
A quick recap from last week’s announcement of the 2023 inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
Among the winners in the Performer Category: Willie Nelson, The Spinners, Missy Elliott

Honored with the Musical Influence Award: DJ Kool Herc, considered the founder of hip-hop DJs, and the late Link Wray, the Shawnee guitarist responsible for the famous rock anthem “Rumble.”

Among the Musical Excellence Awardees: vocalist Chaka Khan, and organist, producer, blues interpreter Al Kooper.

And winning the Ahmet Ertegun Award posthumously, Don Cornelius

The 38th Annual Rock Hall Induction Ceremony is November 3 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, NY.

The mostly-reissue company Craft Recordings in Los Angeles is issuing a second batch in their “Original Jazz Classics” series on 180-gram vinyl and HD digital, featuring Yusef Lateef’s “Eastern Sounds,” Mal Waldron’s “Mal/2,” and two major discs from Bill Evans, “Waltz for Debby” and “Sunday at the Village Vanguard.”


Featured Photo: Isaiah J. Thompson and Cécile McLorin Salvant

Stay connected to KUVO’s programs and our community! Sign up for the Oasis E-News today!

Become a Member

Join the growing family of people who believe that music is essential to our community. Your donation supports the work we do, the programs you count on, and the events you enjoy.

Download the App

Download KUVO's FREE app today! The KUVO Public Radio App allows you to take KUVO's music and news with you anywhere, anytime!