On Tuesday, May 21 the Vinyl Vault will feature the first album from the Brecker Brothers, simply entitled “The Brecker Bros.” It was released in 1975 on the Arista Records label. Brothers Randy, on trumpet and Michael on tenor sax were joined by Dave Sanborn on alto sax, Don Grolnick on keyboards, Bob Mann on guitar, Will Lee on bass, Harvey Mason on drums, and Ralph McDonald on percussion.

The album features intricate, precision playing by the entire band in a set inspired by jazz, rock, and funk. The album’s lead-off track, “Some Skunk Funk,” composed by Randy Brecker, became a regular feature of the band’s sets, was rerecorded by them and covered by other bands over the years.

The Brecker Brothers went on to record five more albums through 1982, then reformed and released more albums in the 1994-1998 time frame. The brothers were also in-demand session players, appearing on hundreds of albums and working with musicians such as Frank Zappa, John Lennon, Pat Metheny, Parliament/Funkadelic, Martha and the Muffins, Steely Dan, Bruce Springsteen, Chick Corea and many more.

Check out “The Brecker Bros.” on the next Vinyl Vault with Geoff Anderson, on Tuesday, May 21 at 8:30 p.m. on KUVO JAZZ.

Stay connected to KUVO’s programs and our community! Sign up for the Oasis E-News today!

Become a Member

Join the growing family of people who believe that music is essential to our community. Your donation supports the work we do, the programs you count on, and the events you enjoy.

Download the App

Download KUVO's FREE app today! The KUVO Public Radio App allows you to take KUVO's music and news with you anywhere, anytime!