Vocalese master Eddie Jefferson and his 1977 album, “The Main Man” will be the feature on the next Vinyl Vault. The album, released on the Inner City label, is widely considered his best.

Jefferson pioneered the concept of putting lyrics to well-known jazz solos and then singing them, sometimes at a near-impossible tempo. Lambert, Hendricks, and Ross had more commercial success with the concept, but many of Jefferson’s creations have been covered by others such as the Manhattan Transfer.

Vinyl Vault is sponsored by Vinyl Me, Please

“The Main Man” featured many top jazz players including Richie Cole on alto sax who had been playing with Jefferson for several years before this recording. Trombonist Slide Hampton arranged the tunes and contributed several solos. Other musicians on the album included George Duvivier on bass, Charles Sullivan on trumpet, Junior Cook on tenor sax, Hamiet Bluiett on bari sax, and Billy Hart on bass, among others.

Highlights of the album include Jefferson’s “Moody’s Mood for Love” which was originally a hit by King Pleasure, “Benny’s From Heaven” to the tune of “Pennies From Heaven,” “Jeannine,” “Night Train,” “Freedom Jazz Dance” and more.

Join Geoff Anderson for “The Main Man” by Eddie Jefferson on Tuesday, February 7 at 8:30 pm on KUVO JAZZ.

Stay connected to KUVO’s programs and our community’s activities, Sign up for the Oasis E-News today!

Become a Member

Join the growing family of people who believe that music is essential to our community. Your donation supports the work we do, the programs you count on, and the events you enjoy.

Download the App

Download KUVO's FREE app today! The KUVO Public Radio App allows you to take KUVO's music and news with you anywhere, anytime!