The next Vinyl Vault features a 1962 album from trumpeter Lee Morgan entitled “Take Twelve.” Morgan spent most of his recording career on Blue Note Records, but this one was released on Jazzland Records and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.

This date was with a quintet featuring Clifford Jordan on tenor sax, Barry Harris on piano, Bob Cranshaw on bass, and Louis Hayes on drums. Four of the six tunes were composed by Morgan and display clever and melodic lines which the leader and Jordan deliver with sharp ensemble playing and a delightful blending of their two horns.

Vinyl Vault is sponsored by Vinyl Me, Please

Morgan had been a member of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers but was kicked out of the band in the summer of 1961 due to his increasing unreliability brought on by his heroin addiction. In the second half of 1961, Morgan hit bottom, rarely performing and even pawning his trumpet for cash to feed his addiction. A contract with Jazzland for two albums provided a lifeline. “Take Twelve” was the first and represented a comeback of sorts. Morgan made the most of the opportunity and it’s obvious from his playing and the compositions he brought to the date.

Join Geoff Anderson for some Lee Morgan on Tuesday, March 15, at 8:30 pm for the Vinyl Vault on KUVO JAZZ.

Stay connected to KUVO’s programs and our community’s activities: Sign up for the station’s Oasis Online E-newsletter today!

Vinyl Vault
March 15, 2022
Lee Morgan, “Take Twelve”

Become a Member

Join the growing family of people who believe that music is essential to our community. Your donation supports the work we do, the programs you count on, and the events you enjoy.

Download the App

Download KUVO's FREE app today! The KUVO Public Radio App allows you to take KUVO's music and news with you anywhere, anytime!